I’ve named this “Fruit Cleans: Day 1” but can’t promise I’ll be writing on day 2 and 3… I’ll try.

Anyway, as Baron’s 40 days of personal revolution reaches it’s middle point, we are instructed in the diet section to do a fruit cleanse. If you’ve been keeping up with my blog (or just reading it all for the first time) a “cleanse” is not something that was easy to decide for me to do. The whole idea of restricting what you eat to a specific type of food is very counterintuitive to all that I’ve been taught in treatment. I’ve always been taught balance and moderation. That one day if you think you eat too much you don’t compensate by not eating the next day, you just eat clean the next day. So I had trouble deciding whether I should do it. I had to really look into what I thought my intentions for wanting to do it were. If, for example, they were that maybe I’ll lose weight, or that it’ll be easy, or that somewhere in me I like restricting my intake, then I was not going to do it. And while those thoughts crossed my mind, I’ve decided that those definitely are not my intentions at all. I want  to do it because everyone else is – not in a peer pressure way – but in a community of people going through the 40 days. Also because I’m curious to see what it feels like post-cleanse. I’ve had friends do cleanses and I’ve been curious. Maybe it is an awesome feeling, maybe I’ll hate it, maybe my body will love it or hate it, we will see.

So intentions are what are important here. I think it was the philosopher Kant that discussed intention. That the reason why you do something is what is important. Because this is a yoga blog, it can relate to yoga in many aspects. We often say to set an intention at the beginning of class. But what is an intention? An intention is defined as a purpose, an anticipated outcome that is intended or that guides your planned actions. I think in yoga, at least for me, I use it as a way to guide my planned actions, not towards an anticipated outcome. If my intention is to send my efforts to someone who cannot practice, who is sick, or to send my passion for my practice to someone who is suffering, or the love created by the community in the room to someone who is lonely, those are my “whys” for practicing.

Intentions can come in other forms as well. Your attention may be to burn calories, or to find peace, or to relax. Those can also guide your practice. If, for example, your intention is to burn calories, than perhaps in a hard warrior series you push yourself. If it is to relax then perhaps you take your child’s pose.

This post became something I completely didn’t think it would! Anyway – class time. Woo hoo. Fruit cleanse. Holla.

